Home / Food & Drinks / Vegans Are Really, Really Angry At Starbucks

Vegans Are Really, Really Angry At Starbucks

starbucksA petition on Change.org calling foul on the absence of a vegan option for ’ cult seasonal offering, Latte, contains an even more damning allegation: Baristas are unaware that the drink mix contains .

“Many people are shocked to hear that the mix contains condensed milk because there’s no way anyone would be able to tell walking into a store and placing an order,” reads the petition. “Employees don’t even realize it has milk in it!”

A call to some Starbucks hotline representative confirmed which the pumpkin spice mix used for making the drink contains milk and the latte cannot be customized being dairy-free or vegan. The standard version of the drink also includes steamed whole milk and sweetened whipped cream.

However, we informally asked employees at the half-dozen Starbucks whether the drink could possibly be made dairy-free, and only one knew for sure that there was no vegan variation. Employees at four locations said it may be made dairy-free by substituting soy whole milk for steamed milk, and by foregoing whipped cream. One said she couldn’t guarantee it turned out dairy-free.

A Starbucks spokesman told Consumerist that vegans and those with can instead opt for Starbucks VIA Pumpkin Spice instant coffee, which doesn’t contain dairy. Other topping syrups like white chocolate and caramel also contain dairy, he noted.

“If customers are in doubt, the best thing to do is ask a barista for a list of ingredients,” he said.

But what if the baristas don’t know?

“It’s a good opportunity to send our baristas a reminder,” Starbucks representative Alisa Martinez told HuffPost, adding that baristas are trained to be sensitive to patrons’ allergy and ingredient concerns. Starbucks plans to send a note about the dairy component of the pumpkin spice mix to baristas in the company’s U.S. stores. “The pumpkin spice mix clearly states that it’s made with dairy,” she said.

Starbucks has run into trouble over ingredients before. Last year, the chain was blasted for using cochineal extract, an insect-based red dye, to color some of its offerings. Amid the backlash, Starbucks ditched the dye for a tomato-based ingredient called lycopene.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

Scroll To Top